Angler’s Paradise, Part 2 (Entry 87)

I’d caught a fair few fish over the first part of the week. Lot’s of the beautiful, colourful residents of Zyg’s fantastic fishery. A mixture of shallow waggler and light lift method fishing. My favourite ways to floatfish. If anything, I had over indulged somewhat, but this was all to change. It was time to fish the specimen orfe and tench lake in an attempt to catch a bigger specimen or two.

First, a visit to the on-site shop for some advice and inside knowledge. It seemed that there had been a lot of smaller fish being caught on the tried and tested maggot feeder or waggler approach, and although I’m sure it could have sorted out a fish or two, I felt it would have been a war of attrition. Weather-wise it was still very windy, a cold wind too, but thankfully the sun was shining providing a well needed boost in temperature. I opted to fish two light ledger rods both with method feeders. Scalded pellets to mould around them, and with me for hookbait, I brought a selection of small boilies, 8mm pellets, some meat and should I get desperate, a tin of sweetcorn. Hopefully these bigger, and in some cases, harder baits would withstand the attentions of the smaller fish. However, as the same small fish fed on the pellets, I hoped they would attract the attention of their bigger brothers and sisters. That was the theory. I started at sunrise in temperatures close to freezing. I made for the deeper end of the pool, where my left hand rod would be cast into the heart of one of bays of the island, and my right hand rod positioned in the deeper water half a rod length of a large weed bed. After a few casts, I began to get regular indications on the left hand rod whilst the other lay quite lifeless. It’s a funny game fishing, After roughly two hours of line bites from the left hand rod it was to be the right hand one that first sprung into life. I lifted into a fish that plodded somewhat on the other end. Very bream like, though it couldn’t be on of those. I assumed this must be a reasonable orfe. The fish kept deep. Slowly it came towards me, and I hoped that soon a vivid orange back would fade into view. A few moment later and there it was. The fairly broad back of a beautiful golden orfe. I took my chance and swept it into the net.

First fish and a PB!

What a stunning fish it was! I was more than made up, and although I would have much rather have caught it on float tackle, I was certainly not complaining. Maybe I’d get a chance to try that later as the water warmed in the sun. I took a few pictures before releasing the fish. Time for a celebratory cup of tea and a Jaffa Cake. Celebrating something orange with something orange. Seemed quite fitting. The other rod was still getting a lot of interest from smaller fish. After my mini celebration, both rods were re-baited and re-cast. I then settled back and waited contently. Not too long later, maybe twenty minutes or so, the rod that had been a hive of activity finally roared into life. A much more powerful and familiar fighting fish this time. This had to be a tench. The aggressive nature of the fight suggested a male tench too. Several powerful figure of eight manoeuvres were performed under the rod tip but soon a fighting fit, and brilliantly coloured, male tinca was laying on the unhooking mat.

How about this for amazing colours?

With the sun now nearing it highest so the fishing became difficult. For a time I searched the pool with one rod, casting regularly in an attempt to steal a bite. During this time I began to prime a margin swim with a few pellets to try later in the afternoon as the sun began to drop. For now though, it was a case of watching the wildlife and relaxing. In front of me were some quite large beetles, oil beetles I was informed at a later date by a friend (thanks Stewart). I watched them flock towards the biggest which I assumed was a female. Let’s just say I was right. They were an amazing addition to the session, something I’d never seen before. A multitude of different birds came to visit my swim, eating leftover or dropped bait. It was staggering how close they came with time.Yes, I was really enjoying this. And so the next few hours passed without any circumstance on the fishing front. Time to try the margin swim. After just minutes of being in position the rod was nodding aggressively and another tench hooked. A little smaller than the first but an amazing two toned variety. All these fish were in immaculate condition.

I have no idea how tench get like this but I'll happily catch themWith the fish returned, I walked around the pool, attempting to spot some bigger orfe in the upper layers. I saw one or two, but could not get them feeding. The cool conditions and the fluctuating overnight temperatures making them a little ‘difficult’. Regardless, I had enjoyed the session wholeheartedly. I fished until sunset but no more fish came my way. I probably could have fished a little harder, moved and tried to find the fish, but there was no need. It was a holiday after all. The fish I caught were more than ample reward and they will certainly stick in my memory for a good while yet.

This has gone on for a little longer than I thought it would so I shall save the short session after the koi carp for another time. Thanks for reading the update. ‘Like’ if you have enjoyed, and share with friends if you think they will enjoy it. Check out my Facebook page where you can keep up to date with everything that is going on.

Until next time,

NorthwestFisherman

Please Leave a Comment!

