See you in June (Entry 81)

A short update this week owing much to the fact that I had an unproductive session this week. I half thought it would be but I also felt that it would be my last chance to get on the river before the closed season begins. Conditions were far from ideal. The river was coloured with a lot of suspended sediment in the water. Not a good kind of coloured Double white maggot for a hungry chubespecially not for this section of river. I armed myself with a pint of white maggots and my trotting rod, teamed up with a centrepin. I picked a lovely, long section of river that would be my home for the day. For the first half hour, I fed the swim with a few maggots every few minutes, and went about rigging up. I enjoyed the solitary surroundings in which the river resides. Apart from the odd dog walker, I didn’t see a soul all day. The high bank behind me sheltered me from the forceful wind. I couldn’t think of a place I would rather have been. I will certainly miss the river for the next few months but as they say; absence makes the heart grow fonder.

What a swim for trotting

To be fair I gave it a good go for four hours and fished until I had trouble seeing the float tip. Yard by yard my trot was shortened with the fading light. In all that time I had not one bite. It didn’t matter though. I had spent the day in the company of a living, flowing stretch of water home to big, wary chub. This winter, this particular stretch of river has not been kind to me. Only producing a few chub, all to good sizes though. Not the 5lb one I was after but lovely chub all the same. The summer was the same; it’s Barbel proved elusive and apart from a few smaller chub, I would have left those sessions fish-less. Still, even with her apparent cruelness, I know that come opening day I shall be back. Fighting my way through the overgrown banks of the early summer, in a bid to find the waterside, where I may once again fall under the spell of the hypnotic currents.

Thanks for reading this update. You might like to head over to my Facebook page. Once there if you ‘like’ the page, you will get all the blog, twitter and Facebook updates in one place! You can click the link at the end or hit like to the top right of the home page. Don’t forget to share this with anyone you know might appreciate it using the social media buttons below.

Click here to go to the NorthwestFisherman Facebook page

Until Next time tight lines

NorthwestFisherman

Please Leave a Comment!

