Trotting for chub (Entry 69)

Just a short update this week as I only had a two hour session one evening before dusk. I decided, for a little change on this stretch of river, to try trotting maggots. Hopefully a big chub would find this presentation irresistible. In the last few days the colour has really dropped out of the river so I figured that the chub would be more responsive to a smaller bait approach. And what better way to present them than under a float. I have really been enjoying running a float down the river lately. I didn’t neglect to take a light swim feeder set up with me though. You shouldn’t put all your eggs in one basket you know.

IMG_3543I had a swim in mind and I made a beeline for it on arrival at just after two o’clock. With the faster water on my own bank I fed a few maggots mid river whilst I set up the rig. With chub to 6lb present I didn’t want to fish too light. I had the ‘no point fishing silly strength line only to lose the fish should you get a bite,’ debate in my head. In the end I plumped for a 3lb fluorocarbon hooklength to 4lb mainline and a size 18 hook. I was pretty confident this would allow me to put on adequate pressure to steer an angry chub from any obstacles should I hook one. All this time, I’d been feeding three or four maggots every thirty seconds. I set the float to a depth of four feet and ran the float through. The float leant back occasionally, telling me the maggots were just tripping the bottom. I shallowed up and proceeded to run the float through and feed a few maggots before each cast. After fifteen minutes I had not had any signs. I added six inches to the depth, the maggots would now be very much on the bottom should I let the float run through. The rig went through cleanly enough and on the second run through the float sank from sight. Unsure wether this was debris or a fish I struck and was pleased to feel fish-like resistance at the other end. It felt like a good fish too. But in a fairly strong flow its hard to tell. I took my time, kept the rod low and slowly inched the fish up the swim. When it was in front of me I caught the first glimpse of what turned out to be a chunky chevin. It behaved very well, and didn’t try the classic chub tactic of diving for near bank cover as I drew it over the net. I was very happy to see the scales pull round to 4lb 8oz. A good chub on light float gear.

Look at the belly on this fish! I remained in the swim for another fifteen minutes after that fish but had no more interest. I fed the swim with a fair few maggots before I left in search of another swim. I planned to come back at dusk and have five minutes. But for now I walked downstream to a lovely fast bend with a big near bank eddy that I know holds chub most of the time. Today however, the chub didn’t seem to be obliging. Maybe they wanted a static bait and I did debate trying the swim feeder. In the end I was having too much fun on the stickfloat. I did have a number of small fingerling grayling from this swim. I have never seen or heard of anyone catching them from this stretch before so it was a huge surprise to see them. I wonder if there are any bigger ones present?

Where have these com from?With about ten minutes of light left, I headed back to my first swim and fished until I could no longer see the float. When it was too dark to make out, I had a further twenty minutes on the swim feeder. The light had now gone and with somewhere to be that night, I had to leave. Very content however with that lovely chub caught at the start of the session on the humble maggot. I am at the Northern Angling Show this weekend so I am unsure whether I’ll be fishing. If not, there will be no update next week. I’ll keep you posted via the Facebook page.

Thanks for reading this update. You might like to head over to my Facebook page. Once there if you ‘like’ the page, you will get all the blog, twitter and Facebook updates in one place! You can click the link at the end or hit like to the top right of the home page. Don’t forget to share this with anyone you know might appreciate it using the social media buttons below.

Click here to go to the NorthwestFisherman Facebook page

Until Next time tight lines

NorthwestFisherman

Please Leave a Comment!

