Enjoying the last days of summer (Entry 58)

With the warm weather still with us I have not yet turned my attention to perch fishing. The tench and carp are still milling around the margins of lakes and ponds, taking advantage of the abundance of insect life at present, both above and below the surface. No doubt these fish are getting a little harder to catch after a summer of angling pressure, but they are still great fun to target for a few hours. Especially when you use methods that make catching them that little bit more tricky. Sometimes its the way you catch the fish that gives the greatest pleasure. All of a sudden an average sized carp becomes that bit more special. It’s this variety that makes angling very appealing to me.

IMG_2801I arrived at a venue I had not been to before. A stunning little club water if I’m honest. I intended to fish for its carp using the lift method. I make no bones about it, I’ve been having great fun using this method in the last few months. It’s very quick to set up, offers great sensitivity, and allows you to explore the swim you are fishing more readily than other methods. When the floats lifts and bobs as the fish touch the line, which incidentally doesn’t spook them like tight lines, you heart rate doubles. When it eventually sinks from sight or lifts flat on the surface, it’s difficult to control the strike, such is the adrenaline pumping round your body! Having settled into a swim offering sufficient bankside cover in the form of reeds and a lily bed, I fed a likely looking ‘bay’ area with some small pellets and a few grains of sweetcorn. I had meat with me also and some paste. Unfortunately, I had forgotten the bread, which sat in my kitchen. A forgotten item.

IMG_2807I made up the rig which allowing the swim to settle in the process. A small three inch piece of peacock quill was attached to the 7lb mainline at a depth of six foot. Two AA shot were placed four inches from a strong size 12 spade end hook. Within a couple of minutes the rig was ready to fish. But I didn’t begin fishing. There was no signs of fish in the swim. No tell tale bubbles rising or debris being disturbed. I’d much rather the fish come in a feed on the free offerings and gain confidence so I had a little wander. In the middle of the pool carp cruised lazily in the upper layers. The afternoon sun proving to much to resist. Occasionally they slurped down a morsel of food and with a flick of their tales glided onward. I now cursed forgetting the bread. But it was ok, and I was quite happy to watch them going about their business.

IMG_2803A whole hour passed me by whilst I took in the atmosphere. I don’t know what it was about the the place but I really enjoyed being there. It was my first visit to the venue and it wont be my last! I sat back down in the swim and noticed a few bubbles appearing sporadically. In all honesty they looked like skimmer bream and on my first cast the constant bobbing and lifting of the float confirmed this. Plenty of small fish were present that were not capable of taking the double corn hookbait. I cut back on the pellets in an attempt to dissuade the suspected skimmers from the swim and after another hour the bubbles relented. Was this because the pellets had gone or had a bigger fish moved in and forced them out? I didn’t know. A change of hookbait to a little ball of paste resulted in an instant take and an answer to my question. The float burying from view at a rate of knots, the fish heading angrily for the sanctuary of the far bank. At least it hadn’t bolted for the lily bed. For their size the fish fight tremendously hard in this water. They are certainly fit and healthy fish. It just didn’t give up. After swimming in circles under the rod tip, I managed to net a modest mirror carp of around 8-9lb. A perfect size carp for some lift method fun. I unhooked the fish in the water and took a quick photo. It was immaculate and I didn’t want to take it onto the unhooking mat on what was turning out to be quite a warm afternoon. The fish swam off strongly and I primed the swim again for another fish.

IMG_2811A few small tench of about a pound made an appearance before the swim went very quiet. The float didn’t move. Even the cruising fish, so prolific earlier, were becoming fewer and fewer. It stayed this way until the sun sank behind the trees and the light levels dropped. That’s when the fizzing started as the carp began to forage on the lakebed. The only problem was none of this activity was in my swim. They seemed to be hanging further out, down in the slightly deeper water. Naturally I deepened the rig and presented my hookbait here but no bites were forthcoming. I had a chat to a venue regular and fellow club member around this time who put me straight about the stocking of the water and told me about his exploits on the mighty River Severn the day before. During this time the activity remained constant, the fish elusive. A brief tussle with a foul hooked fish just before leaving was the only action of the evening. Thankfully the hook pulled a few seconds later and that was my cue to leave. I can’t wait to be back though!

Thanks for reading this update. You might like to head over to my Facebook page. Once there if you ‘like’ the page, you will get all the blog, twitter and Facebook updates in one place! You can click the link at the end or hit like to the top right of the home page. Don’t forget to share this with anyone you know might appreciate it using the social media buttons below.

Click here to go to the NorthwestFisherman facebook page

Until Next time tight lines,

NorthwestFisherman

Please Leave a Comment!

