Something to lift [method] my spirits (Entry 57)

After the debacle of last weeks session I was in two minds wether to actually go out this week. Maybe the car would explode on the motorway? Of course not, and there was no way I would miss a weeks fishing. That said, the lack of a pole has scuppered my plans for the coming weeks. Only in terms of how I planned to fish places of course. I will merely have to revise these. I plan to start fishing for some canal perch in a week or two and was hoping to use a pole presentation. Anyway with a few weeks to spare, I settled on heading to a venue I haven’t been to this year to try to catch some of its substantial brown goldfish.

IMG_2753An early start was in order as the weather man predicted another sunny and warm day. I felt my best chance to catch my intended quarry was to arrive just before dawn and fish through until around eleven o’clock. Everything, thankfully, went to plan and I set up just one rod with a lift method set up. Albeit a slightly scaled down version, featuring a pole float instead of the traditional peacock quill. Its something I have been messing with this year and I really like it. A little more finesse in an already very sensitive set up. I must say the calm conditions on the day helped a lot and this finer approach doesn’t work well with any tow or wind on the water. Anyway, the rig consisted of 5lb line with a hi-tech 0.13mm (4lb 6oz) hooklength. To this was tied a 16’s spade end hook in a medium wire. This would hopefully allow fine enough presentation for the goldfish/crucians but also give me a chance of landing any carp that muscled in on the act. Just as well really as the first cast produced a sailaway bite that resulted in a 6-7lb common carp. It definitely had some ghostie in it, but wasn’t a true ghost carp.

IMG_2762Needless to say it fought well above its weight and gave me a right run around on lightish gear. Once returned I fed the swim again, convinced that it would have been disturbed by the angry carp I’d just caught. I left it to settle and drank a coffee, soaking in the atmosphere as the sun broke from behind the trees. The mist danced across the surface in long, delicate columns. Slowly the pale blue tones gave way to golden orange hues and the mist melted away into nothingness. It’s amazing what happens in the space of five or ten minutes. I always feel privileged to be a witness to these things. But back to the fishing. I was using sweetcorn on the hook with a few kernels being fed every so often. I also fed a few small pellets but not too many. Just something to sit on the bottom and break down slowly, with an attractive scent trail for any ‘carpy’ type fish to home in on.

IMG_1953Well it certainly worked. I started to get plenty of bites and indications. Unfortunately they were from the fish I was trying to avoid. The small palm sized crucians. I could have quite happily sat for a few hours, catching a 6oz fish every few minutes but I didn’t want to fall into that trap. I added a foot to the rig and fished a past the feed area down the shelf into deeper water. Hopefully where any feed would have been rolling to. This went some way in avoiding the smaller fish for a while and I thought that any bigger fish would feasibly be sitting here. After just over an hour and without any more indications I decided a move was in order.

By now it was mid morning. Where does the time go when we go fishing? If only it went that quickly at work! I felt the best time to catch one of the these lovely fish had now past me by. After a quick lap I nestled into a swim with a little bay to my right. I fed some bait and moments later, in the depths through the clear water, I spotted some dark shapes moving to over the bait. One fish was very visible, a little silver ghost carp, but the two or three fish with it of a similar size looked more chunky. Could these be the fish I was after? I waited for the fish to back out of the swim and introduced the rig. A few more freebies followed it and I sat back and waited. The float nudged and dipped. A liner. Then it sank and stayed there and I struck into a fish that thumped doggedly in the deep water. It took a minute or so for me to persuade the fish to leave the depths and when I eventually caught sight of it I could see it wasn’t the intended species but some kind of common carp hybrid.

IMG_2784The fish was netted and unhooked in the margins. A quick picture taken as I returned it and the fish was soon sinking from view. It was certainly a great way to finish the session. A session where nothing went wrong! I really enjoyed fishing the lift method too and hope to use it again before the summer slips away. I’ll be watching the weather this week and this will determine what I’ll be after next week.

Thanks for reading this update. You might like to head over to my Facebook page. Once there if you ‘like’ the page, you will get all the blog, twitter and Facebook updates in one place! You can click the link at the end or hit like to the top right of the home page. Don’t forget to share this with anyone you know might appreciate it using the social media buttons below.

Click here to go to the NorthwestFisherman facebook page

Until Next time tight lines,

NorthwestFisherman

Please Leave a Comment!

