Bait and wait, the carp leave it late (Entry 39)

OK, so I will never be a poet but with the temperature slowly creeping up and that persistent easterly wind we’ve had to endure for the last month or two now swinging round to a southerly, I decided to have one more session on the water I have been fishing for carp. My thoughts, however, have been on tench and I am itching to get fishing for them. It looks now that I will definitely be targeting them from my next session regardless of weather or situation. You’ve got to be in it to win it so speak, plus all the time I’ll be down there at the water, I’ll be learning about it and its moods, whether that be good or bad. But anyway, back to this weeks session, or should that be sessions, because if truth be told I had two.

IMG_1618

With the daylight hours now much longer than a couple of weeks back I was able to have two short sessions. I changed my approach from a single highly visualy bait cast often to a more concentrated and static one, still relying on small PVA bags to bost the attraction around my hookbait though. I began by putting down a small bed of various size pellets. Not a huge bed, just something to hopefully attract and hold a fish or two and get them feeding, I also put on five or six of the 10mm boilies I would use as hookbait. Having now fished this water a few times, I’ve made note of areas where I have seen fish moving in even bitter conditions, and it was one of these areas I targeted first.

Rig TemplateThe above rig was cast out shortly afterwards. Nothing complicated and about as tangle free as they come. Important to note the safety aspects of any rig involving a ‘fixed’ lead. Make sure that you will not leave a fish tethered if you should break off. Use sensible line IMG_1634and tackle for the fish you are after, there no need to use 3oz leads, 3.5lb rods for fish of less than 10lb that you can catch ten metres from the bank. Just use common sense and if unsure ask someone. What with otters and cormorants, we need to protect our fish stocks as much as we can and we should all do our bit to make sure we don’t put the fish in dangerous situations. Anyway, rant over. The first fish came after around two hours and was an unusual catch for the water, the IMG_1630dreaded bream. But no fish is unwelcome in my eyes and after taking a quick picture picture I returned the fish carefully. The next two casts produced two fish consecutively, both lovely looking fantail/crucian hybrids. Lovely fish, and I think I might have a go for these fish one evening in the summer on lighter tackle. As yet there was no sign of the carp I was after. I knew I had to be patient so I recast and made up a few rigs for the tench sessions I’ll be having soon. I like to keep busy on the bank, and as I have said before, it can sometimes be to my detriment, as I try to force a situation that really just needs leaving. I was glad I did as after an hour I hooked into the fish I was after.

IMG_1652

A beautiful, apple slice scaled mirror carp just over 11lb that was made to look even better in some warm sunshine. That was the end of that short morning session but I would be back two days later to repeat the process. Fishing a different swim this time, I had seen some fish moving close to the bank in very shallow water. Tactics were the same as a few days before. I had to wait around three hours to get my first bite which was a lively and hard fighting mirror carp caught on a 10mm bottom bait. It was another absolute pristine fish and I remember thinking that the future for this little water looks good.

IMG_1656

This fish caused a lot of disturbance in the swim and I was sure that it would have spooked any other carp there at the time, as well as spreading my bed of pellets and boilies all over. I put another smaller bed of pellets out straight away and a few boiles too. Casually threading on a bag of pellets and crushed boilies, I set the trap once more. With only had an hour or so of this session remaining I wondered if I would catch again. The fish certainly left it late and with literally minutes to go I had my final run. The fish this time was more of a plodder, a sure sign of a slightly bigger fish, and this turned out to be the case as moments later I was admiring a perfect mirror carp. The fish was two ounces short of 12lb but on a strong avon rod and 8lb line they’ve been great fun to catch over the past few weeks.

IMG_1666Hopefully next time I update I will have had my first tench fishing session of the year. I highly doubt I will catch but it should be interesting getting to know the water and I look forward sharing it with all of you from the beginning  That way when I eventually tempt that 8lb fish you’ll have an idea of how much it’ll mean. Well, I can dream!

Thank you for reading. Please take the time to follow the page either here, on Wordpress  or on twitter @northwestfish where I’ll notify you when I have updated my blog.

Until next time,

NorthwestFisherman

2 thoughts on “Bait and wait, the carp leave it late (Entry 39)”

  1. It is very enjoyable to read your fishing story. It resembles I was there fishing. I had time for fishing last week but the weather was extreme violent: rain whole day, ice rain, storm, or strong wind and cold. Most time the temperature was around zero. This week it is warm and calm. But I have to work every day. Fortunately I still can read your post and fee fishing.

Please Leave a Comment!

