A change is as good as a rest (Entry 6)

Im always thinking about my fishing. Probably too much at times but its something I do and there’s no getting away from that. Because of this I try to plan sessions sometimes weeks or months in advance. I am telling you this because in this blog update I had a break from crucian fishing, and went for a roving session on a little river that I hope to use as a back up river for this years grayling fishing, which I actually start earlier than most people. I believe mild autumn days off a really good chance of a big fish rather than the harsh and freezing conditions in winter. Im not saying you cant catch big grayling in these conditions by the way but its just something to keep in mind. Sometimes it pays to do things a little different.

As you can see from the above picture the river itself is a small intimate one and not particularly fast flowing which worries me a little as grayling love fast glides. The depth averaged two to three feet and there was plenty of marginal cover and overhanging trees. I walked to the most upstream point I could and dropped into nine swims over three hours on my way back to the car park. Fishing a 6 no.6 wire stem stick float off a centrepin I edged a single red maggot hookbait down any likely looking spots. It was simple fishing and I got a good idea of what the river has to offer.

The first swim produced a bite almost instantly and I knew straight away I had hooked a trout. It turned out to be the above rainbow and weighed roughly 1lb. After all the commotion I moved to the next swim and continued fishing. Feed a few maggots and get the rig to run down the swim, holding it back slightly to match the speed of the flow at the bottom which is always slower than it appears on the surface. This swim produced a few small perch of about 4oz. I didn’t expect to encounter perch and I dont know if they grow particularly big but it was a pleasant surprise.

The next few swims all produced fish and I took a total of five trout with some perch and small roach thrown in. As I have mentioned already I got a good feel for the river and I now understand that the grayling population is sparse but when they are caught are very big fish. I think the venue will fish better when carrying extra water and if nothing else will give me a chance for a better presentation. So if the Dane is not fishable I will be giving this pleasant little river a go come the autumn. And with views like the one below to look at who can blame me!

Until next time,

NorthwestFisherman

Please Leave a Comment!

